SUN Newsletter


Health and Safety in Nepal

• Each participant will be asked to submit a health declaration, upon arrival at Tribhuvan International Airport. This will be available in English, French and Spanish and can be found at the health desk, immediately as you enter the arrivals hall.

• Note that SUNGG19 participants may be asked for a valid yellow fever vaccination, especially those who reside in Africa and Latin America and the Caribbean**. For participants traveling from these SUN countries, a copy of the International Certificate of Vaccination (ICV) for yellow fever must be attached to your visa application.

• Your vaccination booklet will be checked at the airport in Kathmandu, so make sure this booklet is in your hand luggage, to facilitate this control upon arrival.

Nepal has put in place a range of measures to prevent the outbreak and spread of the Ebola Virus. To this end, a voluntary reporting system will be put in place at the health desk, upon arrival at Tribhuvan International Airport, to measure temperatures of participants, in line with the requirements by Nepal WHO Office and the Ministry of Health of Nepal.

• If travelling with prescription medicine, please carry such medication in the original packaging, along with your doctor’s prescription, which you may be asked to show.

• If possible, participants are advised to buy a travel medical insurance plan prior to departure. We wish to remind you that you are responsible for any travel, medical, accidental death, life or other insurance during your journey and stay in Nepal.

** Yellow Fever

A valid yellow fever certificate is required for travelers who reside in the following countries: Africa: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Côte dʼIvoire, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, the Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Sudan, Togo, and Uganda; Latin America and the Caribbean: Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Ecuador, French Guiana, Guyana, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago (Trinidad only), and Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of).