SUN Newsletter
Home / News / MDG-1 and World Food Summit achievements awarded

MDG-1 and World Food Summit achievements awarded

  |   SUN UN Network

On 7th June 2015, the Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO) awarded countries for achieving Millennium Development Goal 1 (MDG1), also known as the hunger target, and honored those who had met the more stringent World Food Summit (WFS) goal of 1996.

“If we all do our part, zero hunger can be achieved within our lifetimes. Together we can make this vision a reality,” José Graziano Da Silva, FAO Director-General

The event follows the launch of the UN State of Food Insecurity in the World 2015 (SOFI 2015) report last month, which noted that countries that have made progress in fighting hunger have enjoyed stable political conditions promoted inclusive economic growth and agriculture, fisheries and forestry development.

Six of the fourteen countries recognised for reaching MDG1 included SUN Countries Costa Rica, Laos, Mali, Mozambique, Myanmar and Nepal, with Myanmar also honored for meeting the WFS goal.


In the video below, FAO’s Assistant Director-General for Economic and Social Development, Jomo Kwame Sundaram, outlines the findings of SOFI 2015.

Learn more about the event and country achievements at FAO

Learn more about MDG1 and the World Food Summit 1996

Post A Comment

No Comments